The Best Quran Apps for Reading, Listening and Memorizing

Updated October 2026

Two hands hold a smartphone showing a page of the Quran in Arabic script

Learn Quranic Arabic > Best Quran Apps

The best Quran app for most readers is Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word) from Greentech Apps Foundation. On 22 October 2026 both its App Store and Google Play listings called it free and ad-free, with translations in 60+ languages, word-by-word meanings, color-coded tajweed and 80+ reciters, all usable offline. For memorization practice, add Tarteel.

A Quran app does one of three jobs. It lets you read the مُصْحَف mushaf (the written Quran) on a phone, it plays recitations, or it helps with حِفْظ hifz (memorizing the Quran). Most apps do the first two. They differ on what they charge, whether they show ads, which languages the translation comes in, and whether they color the تَجْوِيد tajweed (the rules for reciting the Quran).

Nobody at OpenArabic has used each of these apps for months, so this is not a review of how they feel to use. We read what each app's own store listing and website promised on 22 October 2026. Prices and features change, so check the store before you pay.

Eight Quran apps at a glance

All eight apps below are free to download. Four say in writing that they show no ads, and two more carry no "Contains ads" label on Google Play. What separates them is the translation languages, the tajweed colors and how much help they give with memorizing. "Not on the listing" means the store page and the maker's site we read did not mention the feature; the app may still have it.

AppPrice, as listed on 22 October 2026AdsTranslationsTransliterationRecitersTajweed colorsWord by wordOfflineMemorizationPlatforms
Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word), GreentechFree; the App Store lists in-app purchases, Google Play lists noneNone ("ad-free")170+ translations and tafsirs in 60+ languagesNot on the listing80+YesYes, in 15+ languages"All features can be used offline"Verse repeat and group playback; reading planiPhone, iPad, Mac, Android
Quran by Quran.com (iPhone) and Quran for AndroidFree; no in-app purchases on either listing"Ad-free" (iPhone); no "Contains ads" label (Android)Translations and tafsir in 20+ languages (Android listing)Not on the listing15+ (Android listing)Not on the listingNot on the listingNot on the listingAudio repeat; "memorize it" (iPhone listing)iPhone, iPad, Android
AyahFree; the App Store lists in-app purchases, Google Play lists noneNo "Contains ads" label"Meanings"; languages not statedNot on the listing"Tens of reciters"Not on the listingNot on the listingNot on the listingVerse repeat; khatmah trackingiPhone, iPad, Android
TarteelFree tier; Premium $12.99 a month or $7.50 a month billed annually; family plan $13 a month, annual onlyNone ("No ads, free forever")Translation and tafsir; languages not statedYes, per its feature table"Various recitations"Not on the listingWord-by-word audio follow-alongVoice features need "a stable internet connection"AI mistake detection, hidden verses, goals (Premium)iPhone, iPad, Android
iQuranFree on iPhone with a one-off Pro upgrade; on Android, iQuran Lite is free and iQuran costs $1.99"NO adverts" (iPhone listing)39 translations, plus two Arabic tafsirsYes, English8 named recitersYes: ghunna, ikhfa, idgham, iqlab, qalqalahYes, EnglishNot on the listingRepeat a verse, a surah or a rangeiPhone; Android (separate Lite and paid apps)
Quran MajeedFree; Premium removes ads (gift Premium $4.99 a month on its site)Google Play: "Contains ads"80+ languages (Google Play listing)Not on the listing75+ (Google Play listing)Not on the listingWord highlighting during recitation, not word meaningsYes: read offline, download audioAudio repeat; "I Hifz", the full version in PremiumiPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android
Al Quran IndonesiaFree; in-app purchasesGoogle Play: "Contains ads"Indonesian: the Ministry of Religious Affairs (Kemenag) translation and Tafsir JalalainYes, Latin letters8YesYes, Arabic to IndonesianYes, every featureAudio repeatAndroid (the listing we read)
e-Diyanet (Türkiye's Presidency of Religious Affairs)Free; no in-app purchases listedNo "Contains ads" labelTurkish meals (translations), several side by side; tafsirNot on the listingListening; reciters not statedNot on the listingNot on the listingOn desktop, per Diyanet's Quran portalKhatm tracking; Elif-Ba and memorization lessonsiPhone, Android, Windows, Pardus, web

A rating tells you how many people liked an app. We quote each one as the store showed it on 22 October 2026, with its count. Google Play shows a count of reviews and the App Store a count of ratings, and both stores round their counts.

AppApp Store (US)Google PlayGoogle Play downloads
Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word)4.8 from 19K ratings4.9 from 403K reviews (US)10M+
Quran by Quran.com / Quran for Android4.9 from 34K ratings4.7 from 618K reviews (US)50M+
Ayah4.8 from 110K ratings4.6 from 148K reviews (US)10M+
Tarteel4.7 from 11K ratings4.7 from 122K reviews (US)10M+
iQuran4.8 from 31K ratingsiQuran Lite: 4.5 from 215K reviews (US)10M+ (Lite)
Quran Majeed4.7 from 241K ratings4.7 from 1.11M reviews (US)10M+
Al Quran IndonesiaNot checked4.8 from 3.59M reviews (Indonesia)50M+
e-DiyanetNot checked4.0 from 10.1K reviews (Türkiye)1M+

How we chose

We started from the apps that Google showed for "quran app" and "best quran app" on 22 October 2026: the store listings, Quran.com, a Reddit thread and several roundups. Then we read every candidate's own listing and kept the apps that passed three tests.

  • Does the listing say what is free? A reader should know before installing what costs nothing and what needs a plan. The App Store's web pages show only "In-App Purchases: Yes", not the prices, so where the maker's site publishes no price either, we say so.
  • Is the Quran the point of the app? We wanted apps built to read, hear or memorize the Quran. An app where the Quran is one tab among prayer times, shopping and video streaming has a different job.
  • Is the core free? Reading the whole Quran with a translation and listening to a recitation should cost nothing. Every app below meets that.

Several roundups that rank for "best quran app" are written by an app maker who puts its own app first; RecitID's list of five and Quranly's list both do. We sell no app and earn nothing from any link on this page. Every outbound link goes to the maker's own site or store listing.

One app is left out on purpose. The Quranic app teaches the vocabulary of the Quran with spaced repetition, which makes it a language course rather than a Quran reader. It is covered, with its prices, in our comparison of apps that teach Arabic, including the Quranic app.

Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word): our top pick

Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word) is the best Quran app for most people because it does the most for free, with no ads, and its listings describe nothing locked behind a subscription. It is made by Greentech Apps Foundation, which also makes hadith and dua apps.

Its Google Play listing calls it "Completely free & no ads!" and lists more than 170 translations and tafsirs in 60+ languages, including English, Indonesian, Urdu, German and French. Word-by-word translations come in 15+ languages, Turkish among them, with the root, grammar and morphology of each word. There are 80+ reciters, color-coded tajweed, verse repeat for memorizing, a khatmah planner, and five mushaf scripts: Madani, Naskh Indopak, Qaloon, Shemerly and Warsh. The listing says all features can be used offline.

The App Store listing shows the same feature list and runs on iPhone, iPad and Mac. It also shows "In-App Purchases: Yes" without saying what they are, while Google Play shows none. Transliteration is not mentioned on either listing.

The word-by-word and root view is the feature to try if you are learning Quranic Arabic. Our Quran root word explorer does the same job in a browser, one root at a time.

Our verdict: top pick. Install it first, and add another app only for a job it does not do.

Quran.com: the simplest free reader, with no purchases at all

The Quran.com apps suit a reader who wants a clean mushaf with a translation and nothing to buy. They are two separate apps from the same team: Quran by Quran.com on iPhone and iPad, and Quran for Android.

The iPhone listing describes "a beautiful, and ad-free mushaf app" for reading, memorizing and listening, is listed as free, and shows no in-app purchases. The Quran for Android listing lists Madani page images, gapless audio from over 15 recitations with highlighting, customizable audio repeat, bookmarks and tags, night mode, and translations and tafsir in over 20 languages. It carries neither the "Contains ads" nor the "In-app purchases" label.

Neither listing mentions tajweed colors or word-by-word meanings. Quran.com's own apps page also lists Quran Audio, a separate free, ad-free app for recitations with offline downloads.

Our verdict: the app to install for someone who wants to read and listen, and nothing else. Pick Greentech's Al Quran instead if you want tajweed colors or word meanings.

Ayah: a clean mushaf for reading

Ayah is a reading app first: the mushaf on a clean screen, with recitation and bookmarks. The Ayah App Store listing names the latest edition of the Madinah Mushaf, "tens of reciters", verse-by-verse highlighting with repeat options, khatmah tracking, colorful bookmarks and dark mode. Its Google Play listing calls the interface "distraction free", with no ads or in-app purchases label.

Translation is the weak spot on paper. Ayah's own site lists "Meanings" without naming a language, and neither listing mentions transliteration, tajweed colors or word by word. The Android listing was last updated on 3 August 2025, more than a year before we read it.

Our verdict: good if you already read Arabic and want a quiet mushaf. Learners who need a translation are better served by Greentech's Al Quran.

Tarteel: the app for memorization

Tarteel is the app to choose for hifz, because it listens while you recite from memory and shows where you went wrong. The Tarteel App Store listing says you hide the verses and recite, and the app "flags word-level errors, skipped words, or incorrect tashkeel". Recitation follow-along, listening and voice search, which finds a verse when you recite a phrase, are free.

The memorization tools cost money. Tarteel's pricing page listed Premium at $12.99 a month, or $7.50 a month billed annually, and a five-account family plan at $13 a month, annual only, on 22 October 2026. Premium adds mistake detection, hidden-verse and peeking modes, goals and analytics. The free tier carries no ads, by the same page.

Tarteel has two limits. The listing says the voice features need a microphone and "a stable internet connection", so they will not work offline. And its description talks about words and vowel marks (tashkeel); it does not claim to check the tajweed rules, so a teacher still has to hear you. Our comparison of online Quran classes by price per hour covers the teachers.

Our verdict: the best memorization aid on this list. Try the free tier for a week before paying.

iQuran: tajweed colors and word by word on iPhone

iQuran is the pick for an iPhone user who wants tajweed colors and English word-by-word meanings in one app. The iQuran App Store listing opens with "NO adverts. NO subscriptions." It colors five tajweed rules by name (ghunna, ikhfa, idgham, iqlab and qalqalah), gives an English word-by-word translation of every word, and lists 39 translations, an English transliteration among them, plus the Al-Muyassar and Jalalayn Arabic tafsirs. Eight reciters are named, with repeat options for memorizing.

A one-off Pro upgrade adds unlimited bookmarks and notes; the web listing does not show its price. The App Store page says "Only for iPhone". On Google Play the same maker sells iQuran Lite, free, and the full iQuran at $1.99. The Lite listing was last updated on 16 August 2025.

The colors only help if you know what they mean. Our color-coded chart of the tajweed rules explains each one with Quran examples.

Our verdict: a strong iPhone choice for tajweed study, and the one app here whose store listing names an English transliteration.

Quran Majeed: reciters and prayer times, with ads

Quran Majeed puts 75+ reciters and prayer times in one app, and shows ads unless you pay. Its Google Play listing carries the "Contains ads" label and lists translations in 80+ languages, 75+ reciters with offline downloads, and a memorization mode called I Hifz. Premium removes the ads and unlocks "the full I Hifz experience".

The App Store listing adds word highlighting during recitation, audio repeat with speed control and root search, plus prayer times and a Qibla compass. Quran Majeed's site sold gift Premium at $4.99 a month on 22 October 2026.

Our verdict: worth it if you want many reciters and prayer times in one app and will pay to remove the ads. Otherwise Greentech's Al Quran gives 80+ reciters free.

Al Quran Indonesia: the app for Indonesian readers

Al Quran Indonesia is the app for Indonesian readers, with transliteration in Latin letters. On 22 October 2026 its Google Play listing in the Indonesian store showed 4.8 stars from 3.59 million reviews, 50M+ downloads and the label "#1 top free books & reference".

The listing names the Kemenag RI translation from Indonesia's Ministry of Religious Affairs, Tafsir Jalalain in Indonesian, Latin-letter transliteration, colored tajweed, Indonesian word-by-word meanings and 8 reciters, and says every feature works offline. It also says all features are free without limits, yet carries the "Contains ads" label, and its prayer-time widget is premium only.

Our verdict: the first app to install for an Indonesian reader who can accept ads. For an ad-free app with Indonesian, Greentech's Al Quran lists Indonesian translation and word by word too.

e-Diyanet: the official app in Türkiye

e-Diyanet is the app of Türkiye's Presidency of Religious Affairs (Diyanet). Diyanet's Quran portal sends iOS and Android users to it, and offers separate Quran apps for Windows and Pardus.

The e-Diyanet Google Play listing describes a "Quran Academy" with the mushaf, tafsir, translations and khatm tracking, next to prayer times, fatwas and Elif-Ba lessons. It is free, with no ads or in-app purchases label. Diyanet's list of what is new in its Quran app adds several meals (Turkish translations) side by side, voice search, an Arabic and Turkish on-screen keyboard, and offline use on desktop.

Our verdict: the one to use for a Turkish translation from Diyanet itself. Its 4.0 rating from 10.1K reviews in the Turkish store is the lowest on this page, and the Quran is one part of a larger app.

Two apps we rejected, and why

Two well-known apps failed our tests, each on the evidence of its own listing.

Muslim Pro: the offline Quran costs money

Muslim Pro is an all-purpose Muslim app, and its Quran is one part of it. The Muslim Pro Google Play listing carries the "Contains ads" label and puts "Offline Quran Reading and Listening" and the ad-free interface under Premium. The same listing offers streaming of Muslim-friendly films and shows, a halal restaurant finder and Umrah booking. Greentech's Al Quran and Al Quran Indonesia both say they work offline for free, so we see no reason to pay for it here.

Quran Pro: free, and also a subscription

A Google search for "Quran Pro" on the App Store showed five different apps with "Quran Pro" in the name on 22 October 2026, which makes it easy to install the wrong one. The one at the top, from Quanticapps, has a listing that promises "all the features of Quran Pro without any restrictions" and, a few lines later, offline downloads of every reciter playlist "with one subscription". It does not say what the subscription costs. A listing that contradicts itself on what is free fails our first test.

Which app for which goal

Choose by the job: a memorization app is the wrong tool for reading a translation.

Your goalMain appAdd
Read with a translation in your language, free and without adsAl Quran (Tafsir & by Word)Quran.com's Quran Audio for recitations
A plain mushaf and nothing elseQuran.com, or AyahNothing
Memorize (hifz)TarteelA teacher who hears you recite
Learn tajweed while you readiQuran (iPhone) or Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word)Our tajweed color chart
Read in Indonesian, with transliterationAl Quran IndonesiaAl Quran (Tafsir & by Word) if the ads bother you
Read a Turkish translatione-DiyanetAl Quran (Tafsir & by Word) for word by word in Turkish
Understand the Arabic words themselvesAl Quran (Tafsir & by Word), word-by-word viewThe Quranic app; our list of common Quran words

To learn what the words mean, start with the most common words in the Quran with their meanings. For children learning those words, our Arabic word search puzzles turn them into a printable game, and a printable list of the 99 names of Allah with meanings and roots makes a good first set. When you want more than an app, our guide to learning Quranic Arabic compares the free and paid courses.

Frequently asked questions

Which one is the best Quran app?

For most readers, Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word) from Greentech Apps Foundation. On 22 October 2026 both of its store listings called it free and ad-free, with more than 170 translations and tafsirs in 60+ languages, word-by-word meanings in 15+ languages, color-coded tajweed and 80+ reciters, all usable offline. For memorization practice, add Tarteel, which listens while you recite.

Is the Quran app free?

Most Quran apps are free to download, and several are free with no ads. On 22 October 2026 the Quran.com apps listed no in-app purchases at all, and Greentech's Al Quran and iQuran said they carry no ads. Tarteel is free for listening and recitation follow-along, with Premium at $12.99 a month. Quran Majeed and Al Quran Indonesia are free but carry the Google Play label Contains ads.

Which Quran app has no ads?

Among the apps we compared on 22 October 2026, these said in writing that they carry no ads: Quran by Quran.com, Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word), iQuran and Tarteel's free tier. Quran for Android, Ayah and e-Diyanet had no Contains ads label on Google Play. Quran Majeed, Al Quran Indonesia and Muslim Pro did carry that label, and each sells a paid plan that removes the ads.

Which Quran app has transliteration?

Of the listings we read on 22 October 2026, three name transliteration: iQuran lists an English transliteration among its 39 translations, Al Quran Indonesia offers Latin-letter transliteration beside the Indonesian translation, and Tarteel's pricing page lists translation and transliteration among its features. The other listings do not mention it, so check inside the app before relying on it.

What is the best app for learning the Quran?

It depends on what you are learning. To memorize, Tarteel, whose Premium plan flags missed and wrong words while you recite from memory. To learn tajweed while you read, an app with color-coded tajweed such as Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word) or iQuran. To understand the Arabic words, the Quranic app in our separate comparison of Arabic learning apps. None replaces a teacher who hears you recite.